Tanzania Country Info

When you travel to the Great Lakes region of east Africa, you will find Tanzania, a land of contrasts, nicknamed The Green Land.

Geography/topography/ecology/key landmarks:
• Size: 947,303 km2 (365,756 sq mi), 31st largest country in the world.
• Borders Uganda to the north, Kenya to the northeast, the Indian Ocean to the east, Mozambique and Malawi to the south, Zambia to the southwest and Rwanda, Burundi and the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the west.
• Boasts an Indian ocean coastline of 1,424 km (885 mi). There are also offshore islands, including Unguja (Zanzibar), Pemba, and Mafia.
• Three of Africa’s Great Lakes are partly within Tanzania. To the north and west lie Lake Victoria, Africa’s largest lake and Lake Tanganyika, the continent’s deepest lake, and to the south lies Lake Malawi.
• Geographical regions: mountainous in the northeast, the eastern arm of the Great Rift Valley to the west of the mountains, a large plateau with grasslands in the central part, several lakes protruding into the country and the Indian Ocean coastline and Zanzibar Archipelago.
• Habitats are varied; montane forests, swamps, grassland savannahs, miombo woodland, mangroves, lowland forests and the coastline.
• Highest point: iconic Mount Kilimanjaro, at 5,895 m (19,341 ft) above sea level, in the northeast of the country, is the highest point on the continent and the highest free-standing mountain on the planet.
• Climate is equatorial, but dramatic regional differences exist due to topography.
• Three of Africa’s Seven Natural Wonders: Mount Kilimanjaro, the Ngorongoro crater and the famous annual Serengeti mammal migration (Great Migration).
• UNESCO World Heritage Sites: 7. Kondoa Rock-Art Sites (2006), Ruins of Kilwa Kisiwani and Songo Mnara (1981), Stone Town of Zanzibar (2000), Kilimanjaro National Park (1987), Selous Game Reserve (1982), Serengeti National Park (1981) and Ngorongoro Conservation Area (1979).

Famous parks and reserves:
Serengeti National Park: spiritual home of the Great Migration, and one of the best known safari destinations on Earth
• Tarangire National Park: wonderfully quiet, and a dry season wonderland of elephants, Baobab trees, termite mounds and special birds
• Ngorongoro Crater: UNESCO World Heritage Site, the “eighth wonder of the world” and filled with fauna and flora from crater rim to floor
• Lake Manyara National Park: birds galore (but so much more) in this stunning little park
• Usambara Mountains: incredibly scenic and the “Galápagos of Africa” in terms of species diversity, especially the avian kind.

• 391 mammal species, including Africa’s Big Five
• National Mammal: (Maasai) Giraffe Giraffa camelopardalis tippelskirchi
• Other star mammals: African Wild Dog, Cheetah, Grant’s and Thomson’s Gazelle, Beisa Oryx, Gerenuk, Chimpanzee, Patas Monkey, Zanzibar Red Colobus and Rondo Dwarf Galago
• 1073 bird species, including 31 endemic and 48 globally threatened species
• National Bird: Grey Crowned Crane
• Other star birds: Grey-breasted Spurfowl, Usambara Eagle-owl, Rufous-tailed and Usambara Weaver, D’Arnaud’s Barbet, Sokoke Scops Owl, Fischer’s and Yellow-collared Lovebird, Grey-crested Helmetshrike, Uluguru Bushshrike, Usambara Akalat, Jackson’s Widowbird, Secretarybird, Superb Starling, Red-throated Tit and Long-billed Forest Warbler
• IBAs (Important Bird Areas): 80, including Arusha National Park, Lake Manyara, Lake Victoria, Maasai Steppe, Mount Kilimanjaro, North Pare mountains and Selous Game Reserve
• 217 species of reptiles, including 100 snake species
• 203 species of amphibians
• 426 species of fish

• 9,000 species of plants, including 1,100 endemics
• National Plant: Clove Syzygium aromaticum
• National Tree: African Blackwood Dalbergia melanoxylon

Visit our Tanzania safari and tours page for more info on trips to this magical destination. Customized tours to Tanzania is available to suit your requirements and travel dates.